Papandopulo Saxophone Quartet

PAPANDOPULO SAXOPHONE QUARTET consists of four Croatian saxophone players, all of them graduates of the Music Academy in Zagreb in the class of professor Dragan Sremec. They continued their education at Conservatoires in Paris, Amsterdam and Vienna as well as on the masterclasses held by world-renowned saxophone players.

The Quartet performs regularly on many festivals in Croatia and abroad and has accomplished a remarkable series of more than 200 performances from the year 2008 until now. Special attention has been given to a promotion of new music and young Croatian and foreign composers by Papandopulo Saxophone Quartet, therefore they have premiered pieces by Ante Knešaurek, Mirela Ivičević, Frano Đurović, Mattias Kranebitter, Julian Gamisch, Dubravko Palanović, Tena Ivana Borić, Krešimir Seletković, Ivan Končić, Šimon Voseček, Željko Brkanović, Davor Bobić, Tomislav Uhlik, Gordan Tudor and others, while the new pieces are being composed, without neglecting the classical music of the past centuries. The quartet cooperates regularly with Zagreb Soloists, Amstel Quartet, Mobilis Quartet, Zagreb Quartet, Zagreb Saxophone Quartet, pianists Ivan Batoš and Linda Mravunac-Fabijanić and also with eminent soloists like Arno Bornkamp, Jean-Denis Michat, Jean-Yves Fourmeau, Lars Mlekusch, Bruno Phillip and others.
Performances of Papandopulo Saxophone Quartet have been described in superlatives by the critics.
Trpimir Matasović wrote in the magazine "Zarez":

"Stars of the evening were the members of the Papandopulo Quartet, the ensemble which, with its superb music but also extraordinary dedication, was the best thing that could happen to composers."

Members of the quartet are also engaged in pedagogical work teaching at Music Academies in Zagreb, Split, Sarajevo and Novi Sad, music schools in Zagreb, Jastrebarsko and Samobor, working as teachers on the workshops in Croatia and abroad. Together they founded School of Saxophone in Jaska, a highly successful international spring seminar for saxophone students that won Papandopulo Quartet annual City of Jastrebarsko award.

Their discography consists of 3 albums, recorded for Croatia Records: Papandopulo (2013), Per Quattro (2015) and Scherzo (2017). Their debut album won Porin prize and it is a best selling Croatian classical album in the last decade.

In 2019 they have won a Diploma Milka Trnina for their highly successful project "We’ll take 2000 seconds of Your life" produced by Showroom of Contemporary Sound Festival in Zagreb.

Papandopulo Saxophone Quartet are:

Nikola Fabijanić (soprano saxophone), Gordan Tudor (alto saxophone), Goran Jurković (tenor saxophone), Tomislav Žužak (baritone saxophone).